Understanding the conflicting lemon juice advice

lemon faceI’d heard plenty of good things about using lemon on your face so I decided to give it a go.

And while it definitely made a difference on my face – it reduced blemishes almost immediately – I thought I should do a bit more research about it. Unfortunately, it confused me even more!

I looked up plenty of health and science articles and, not surprisingly, I found advice both for and against it. In fact, I discovered that those who say you shouldn’t use it are really, really against the new fad.

With this in mind, I thought it’d be a good idea to put all the pros and cons in one place so you can make up your own mind.

Pros:

  • Its antibacterial properties help prevent breakouts.
  • It’s a natural exfoliant as the citrus acids works to gently remove dead skin.
  • It kills acne causing bacteria.
  • It helps fight inflammation.
  • It also helps your skin’s pH level, which should be between four and five. Low pH means our skins natural bacteria, which stops inflammation, can’t survive.

Cons:

  • It can cause permanent darkening on the skin, especially when exposed to UV light.
  • It’s highly acid and can irritate the skin.
  • Irritation can be made worse when exposed to UV light as the oil in a lemon is phototoxic. This can cause exaggerated sunburn.
  • It can dry your face and break down the skin’s acid mantel – our defence against microorganismsin in the environment.

While it certainly has its benefits – something I can vouch for –Β to me, the cons outweigh the positives andΒ I think I’ll stick to drinking it, thanks!

Remember, if in doubt, always check with your doctor or dermatologist before doing anything!

Leave a Reply

