Runners Food Staples

As I run I eat so much more and so need to increase my food intake in a healthy way without stuffing my face with doughnuts (which I crave!!) Also,  I find that if I eat before a run I feel sick during it but when I went on my morning run with just a rice cake in my stomach I felt faint so what’s a girl to do?

According to Runner’s World the following foods should be in your diet if you are running (Check out their website runnersworld.com for a full list of how these foods work for runners):

  • Almonds – a small handful at least three to five times per week – i’m not a fan of almonds but I must try and add them to salads or pasta dishes for variety  
  • Eggs –  protein in eggs contains all the crucial amino acids your hard-working muscles need to promote recovery –  you can’t beat a boiled, scrambled, poached, or fried egg yum!
  • Sweet Potatoes – one sweet potato supplies more than 250 percent of the DV for vitamin A in the form of beta-carotene, the powerful antioxidant, vitamin C, potassium, iron, and the two trace minerals manganese and copper – delicious baked, boiled, or microwaved.
  • Whole Grain Cereals – most whole grain cereals offer at least five grams of fiber and at least eight grams of protein – sprinkle ’em all over your brekkie!
  • Oranges – may help in less muscle soreness after hard workouts such as downhill running  – invest in good oranges as they are so much juicier and tastier than cheaper alternatives.  
  • Black Beans – now I don’t know if I could look at these never mind eat them
  • Mixed Greens 
  • Salmon – one of the best food sources of omega-3 fats. Mmm… this is good especially with roast potatoes and peppers
  • Chicken – runners need more protein than non runners for muscle recovery 
  • and for the good news! Dark Chocolate – contains potent antioxidants called flavonols that can boost heart health.
Leave a Reply

